NRL announce new state-based competitions


The National Youth Competition (Holden Cup) will run its 10th and final season in 2017.

After months of speculation, the NRL has today announced that in 2018, the NSWRL and QRL will run their own state-based under-20 competitions.

“The new model is designed to provide a clearer pathway for elite junior players aiming to play in the NRL,” Mr Canavan said.

“We have been concerned for some time about the welfare issues affecting many young players struggling to cope with the pressures of the NYC.

“This model will enable more juniors to stay at home, rather than having to move away from their families, to play Rugby League.

“And it will enable us to expand the game into regional and neighbouring overseas countries which we envisage will become part of the new State based competitions.

“It will also result in significant savings for clubs as they reduce their NYC costs and invest in the State League competitions instead.”

Read the entire press release:

The NYC Database will continue to cover junior rugby league in 2017 and beyond, including the new state-based competitions in 2018.




Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s